Egyptian word for the larger-scale adminstrative divisions of the Black Land from the 12th Dynasty on.

Both t in the word are silent, so the vocalization would be Haware.
Egypt was divided into five Warets, of which three had territorial extent: the Northern Waret with its capital at Avaris, the Southern Waret with its capital at Hawara, and the Waret of the Head of the South with its capital at Waset (Thebes).

see also
Avaris, administrative capital of the eastern Nile delta

write a comment write a comment or suggest a text, search on Google search on Google
this entry was last changed Mar 27, 2008